csibiblestudy


Your Works or His FRUIT?
November 15, 2012, 2:50 am
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book

Tonight at church, our pastor preached and taught us God’s precious word.  As a part of his sermon, we looked at Galatians 5, specifically comparing the works of the flesh and the fruit of the Spirit.  When I read about the works of the flesh, I read of the horrible sins that result and then these words, “and such like”.  While pondering those words, the Holy Spirit ministered to me and reminding me of other scriptures that talked about our attempt to live life by our works.  Flesh represents our natural tendency to live according to what we desire.  I realized that these sins were used in much the same way that “filthy rags” were.  Our attempts at righteousness are worthless and disgusting to God.  I had always understood that the bad results of our sin nature made God sick, but the Holy Spirit put this in context, so are the “good works” we, in our flesh, do to impress God.  Those flesh-motivated attempts at good works are just as vile as these disgusting sins to God.  Only the FRUIT of the SPIRIT are acceptable to God and I don’t produce those, HE does when I get out-of-the-way.  My attempts are just worthless, wasted effort and doesn’t improved my standing before God.  As a result, I frustrate the grace of God and run from the liberty or freedom I have been given in Christ to SERVE others in love.  I had to ask myself, “are you a follower of Christ who loves others as I do myself, or do I make others my spiritual rivals, as I seek for God, my pastor, and my church to approve me above others?”   I read verse 15 in Galatians 5 and asked God to show me if I was attacking others (bite and devour).  Am I trying to build my testimony by destroying others?  Look at the warning at the end of verse 15. If I stab others, spiritually speaking in the back, I need to be careful that I am not treated the same way by others.  The scary thing is, that in me remains an old nature that is capable of living that way.  I am praying that each day, I die to that old, flesh, nature and surrender complete control to the Holy Spirit.  The best thing is that I can know if I am, by what is seen in my life, pathetic, empty, worthless, disgusting works or FRUIT that indicates He controls me!  By the way, control by the Holy Spirit is only true of Christians who have entered a life changing relationship with Christ.  Worthless works show one who is NOT inheriting the kingdom of God.  What about you?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

