csibiblestudy


Twenty-one Days of Prayer, Day 2, Obedience

searching for Jesus 2
Day 2, Feb. 19
Our Obedience- Col. 3:23 and Acts 5:29. In Colossians 3, we are instructed to do whatever we do, heartily, as to the Lord and not to men. I noticed the passage surrounding verse 23 is instructions about putting our faith into action. Specifically, God is instructing “bond slaves” to obey their masters, as to the Lord and not to men. Wow!. I notice the word “eye service”. This refers to a bond slave only working hard when his master is looking. As Christians, we are bond slaves to Jesus Christ, who is always looking, so why can we get by with “eye service”? What is reflected with “eye service” is only doing something outwardly that makes us look good. I also notice the word “heartily” and see “heart” and that points me to motive. Why do I do what I do? Here is the challenge God gives me: do what I have called you to do in a way that you show your total devotion to me. The second passage in Acts 5:29, is the statement made by Peter and the apostles, “we must obey God rather than men, (even if it means we die).” My prayer, “God help me lose sight of others and help me love you so much that what You call me to do, I do it for you alone. Help me to die to my desire to gain the approval of others. It seems strange to live in a way that others may misunderstand me and even think I’m crazy, but keep me from being concerned about that. I only want Your approval. At the end, let everything inside of me be spent doing my best for You alone.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

