csibiblestudy


Twenty-one Days of Prayer, Day 6, Mission, Matthew 28:16-20
February 23, 2015, 6:00 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book

searching for Jesus 2
“Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, into a mountain where Jesus had appointed them. And when they saw him, they worshipped him: but some doubted. And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, ‘All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen’.” When I read this passage, I think of the Great Commission. In Bible college, it seemed like either this passage or the “fields are white unto harvest” was always the passage from which missionaries spoke. As I read, I see that there is purpose behind the commission, “a mountain where Jesus had appointed them”. Jesus didn’t randomly speak this to the disciple but He had purpose. This was His plan to share the Good News with all the world. What really interests me is this section “and when they saw him, the worshipped him: BUT SOME DOUBTED. This seems like a contradiction of actions. How can they worship but doubt? So let me look at me. I really do understand that Jesus is so great and amazing, and awesome, and wonderful, and terrific and I could go on and on. He is all that He is and all that I need. Is it perhaps that the doubting was directed toward him, but toward themselves? I really do believe that they had self-doubt. Notice what Jesus said, “all power (or authority) is given to me.” Doesn’t this sound like Jesus was addressing self-fears that the disciples had. He is saying, go in my power and authority. In sharing the Gospel, I sometimes assume that the person with whom I am sharing will go to heaven or hell based totally on my effectiveness in sharing Christ. I doubt my ability, so I don’t share. But reading this, Jesus relieves the tension because He is the power or authority and what I am sharing is truth He has given me to share along with His authority to share it. On the basis of my authority (therefore is in the passage to remind us this) go, share, and baptize in the authority of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Not only are we to go in His authority, but in the authority of the Trinity. The message consists of “all things that I have commanded” and then He gives us a promise; I am with you as you share, to the end of the age. God help me to share you and to allow You to be my authority. I am simply obeying you because You are my strength and authority. You are willing to empower this weak vessel. God help me obey you and go!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

