csibiblestudy


Twenty-One Days of Prayer, Day 7, My Family
February 24, 2015, 7:53 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book | Tags: , , , , ,

the crossroop troop
Acts 16:31, “And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.” When I read the story of the redemption of the Philippian jailer it is such a straightforward and simply explanation of what salvation is. Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ. Here’s what I believe: Jesus Christ is God, who unconditionally loves me and demonstrated that love by clothing Himself in a human body and after living a sinless life, died as my substitute on the cross for my sin and sins. He resurrected and is alive today, seeking to have a relationship with me. I believe He is who He says He is, and I believe that His death was for me. I also believe that by His grace, my trusting His Good News of the Gospel as my only hope, God the Father will save me and adopt me into His family. I believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and that He is worthy of my surrendering to Him and following Him. I trust Him! In the story in Acts, it seems as if the jailer’s family was convicted and came to Christ immediately. I want to thank God for saving so many in my family and I pray that they will grow as they follow Him. I also pray for some of my grandchildren to come to Him as they understand and come to conviction. I don’t want them pressured to go through a ritual, but I want them to be led by the Spirit to recognize Jesus as their personal Savior. I also am praying for others in my extended family to come to Him. Finally, I pray that I am real and authentic in my walk with my Savior so that others will not be driven from Him by me. I don’t want to be a stumbling block to those who know me best and most intimately. In reading the story, I see the obedience that faith produced within the jailer and how he demonstrated his relationship with Jesus Christ by loving others. He loved God and showed that love by washing and caring for the wounds of Paul and Silas. He then fed them. Loving others is a result of true salvation, so God please love others through me. Finally, he rejoiced. Worship is a natural result of salvation. If you are doing church, please starting being the church and worship and living and loving as a Christ-like one will.

Acts 16:31 tells the story of the Philippian jailer’s salvation experience. Here is mine. I have seen some people posting the story of when they got saved so here’s my story. I was in a Watch-Night Service at a union hall in Fairlawn, VA where Gethsemane Baptist Church was meeting. I was sitting in the back with a girl who was my friend, waiting to preach. The preacher speaking was my 2nd cousin, Ray Franklin. He began to reveal the hypocrite that was me, and it seemed as if he had followed me around and saw what a phony I was. I got really uncomfortable and began to listen more seriously. (Remember I was waiting to preach). I was a pretender and I had convinced many that I was saved and a really good person, but God knew my story. The Holy Spirit had brought me to an encounter with Jesus Christ and I saw my awful sinfulness and separation from God. I remember bowing my head and admitting to God that I needed to have a relationship with Him. I believed that my God, Jesus Christ had died for me and was resurrected, defeating dead and sin and offering me an eternal relationship with Him. I felt as if a heavy burdened had been lifted and I have never been the same. Within 3 months I surrendered my life to serving Christ with my life and decided to attend Piedmont Baptist College (PIU) and 41 years later, I still have the relationship and still seek to serve my Savior Jesus Christ. I still have a sin nature, but I am a son and a servant of the most High God and He has taken my sins and removed them forever. He is my best friend and has and is blessing my life. I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless, I live, yet not I but Christ liveth in me and the life which I now live in the flesh, I live by the faith of the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me. I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain. Not me, but Christ!
Like ·

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

