csibiblestudy


Twenty-one Days of Prayer, Day 9, Our Service. John 12:23-26

searching for Jesus 2
“And Jesus answered them, saying, ‘The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified. Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit. He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal. If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour’.” Jesus taught His disciples an important lesson about serving. He also taught us. I read the words, “the hour is come” and I know that Jesus is talking about the time of His death, resurrection, and exaltation. Jesus is about to do the greatest act of service in eternity. Not only is He following the plan of salvation that God planned, but the Creator and Lord of All, humbles Himself to die in place of His fallen creation; here insert the word “Ed” or “me”. He served “me”. Without this unconditional act of love and humility, I would be spiritually dead and separated from God, with no hope. Today, He still serves me. I can’t even breathe without Him. He gives life, power, and wisdom. He gives, He serves. ME! Notice, “except a corn (grain) of wheat fall into the ground and die”. Jesus used this to show surrender. The God of all left heaven and laid aside certain privileges of being God to come to earth to die. He served me! In order for a grain of wheat to reproduce, it has to die. Jesus died to reproduce “Christ-like ones”, including me. I notice, “it abideth alone” and think about being alone. Remember the movie Castaway? Tom Hanks played a character who was so alone his best friend was a volleyball. When a grain of wheat dies, it reproduces much fruit. Millions have come to Christ to be forever altered by His grace and because of His service. So based on His example, I have a choice. It gets down to a choice of love and I need to make sure that I understand the choice. I will demonstrate what I truly love by my surrender. If I love me, I will miss the greatest opportunity given to man. Salvation allows me to have a personal relationship with God! I also demonstrate that I have missed the true message of the Gospel. Remember the song, “I’d Rather Have Jesus”? When I came to Christ, I brought nothing because I realized I had nothing to offer Him. I “hated” my life apart from Christ and through the Spirit opening my eyes, I saw how empty I was without Him. The last part of this passage is where I want to focus, “If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour”. God, please help me follow Christ. I want to serve Him because I love Him and I want others to glorify Him because of what He does through me. Help me to see that my service is not my job and please don’t ever let me do what You have called me to do because I get paid for it. God I want to be where Jesus is, and I want to honor you will my service. Help me to take advantage of open doors and to give everything in following You. I know I can only do what He does though me but I need to remember that unless I surrender to follow Him, I am all alone and nothing of eternal importance will be accomplished. Jesus, please use me as your hands and feet. Please look at each person through my eyes. Jesus, please serve through me!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

