csibiblestudy


Tic Tic Tic
April 12, 2016, 10:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I awoke this morning and after looking at the clock, tried to return to sleep.  It is important for me to say that I didn’t find sleep difficult; in fact I had been sleeping in a very restful manner.  My dreams were pleasant and I was comfortable.  But as I have gotten older, I find myself waking at times in the middle of the peaceful condition called sleep.  So I tried to go back to sleep.  I couldn’t!  I am a weird person and fall asleep watching tv.  Tried it, couldn’t.  So I tried a noise free environment.  I don’t know if this every happened to you, but when I was younger there were times I couldn’t sleep because my heartbeat kept me awake.  I would be in bed and start listening to my heartbeat and couldn’t sleep.  As you might guess, I grew up in a very country setting!  Our home is a constant place of activity.  It seems we always have noise going on, much of it the laughter of people.  But early this morning, it was silent.  EXCEPT for the clock in the living room.  I never realized that the clock ticked SO LOUD!  As sleep escaped me, the pounding of the clock grew louder.  During the day, when the house is full and life is going on, you can’t hear the clock.  But early this morning, all I could hear was the clock.

Isn’t that like life?  We are such busy people that something that is constantly there goes unnoticed.  Perhaps that is way God tells us “be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Not only do we fill our lives full of busy activities and ignore God but because we do we miss that He is still exalted.  Just like the clock always ticks, it is only in those times when God becomes my focus that I hear Him and see Him as the Exalted One!  Maybe we need to heed the words of Psalm 46:10 and spend a little time being still!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

