csibiblestudy


That’s Not Jesus!
August 1, 2016, 8:04 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book

Jesus, my strength when I am weak
Mark 4:35-41 “And the same day, when the even was come, he saith unto them, Let us pass over unto the other side. And when they had sent away the multitude, they took him even as he was in the ship. And there were also with him other little ships. And there arose a great storm of wind, and the waves beat into the ship, so that it was now full. And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish?
And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm. And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith? And they feared exceedingly, and said one to another, What manner of man is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?
One of the most difficult thing for most Christians to “believe” is that Jesus personally cares for us. While most of those professing belief in Christ would quickly acknowledge that He loves us, we abandon that belief when something “bad” happens in our lives. We begin to gripe and complain and even get angry when we face the trials of life. That’s what happened in the event that is recorded in this passage of Mark. Jesus has just given and explained some remarkable truths about what the kingdom was. Then He personally explained the parable to those who had the closest relationship with Him. Not only did they get to hear what He said, they got to see up close and personal His character. The Bible records about 35 to 40 miracles that Jesus performed, and as John told us, not everything was written down. If you read this chapter, you notice that the Word is sown, something like seed and there are four basic reactions to the seed. Focus for a moment on the final reaction. Notice that some of the “good soil” people, who we most likely would identify as believers and followers of Christ, still struggle to completely believe. Some produce 30% and some 60% “fruit” and a few 100%. No wonder that some questioned the goodness of God. Are you like that? At times I am. Although I have walked with God for years, there are times I don’t count the trials of life as joy. I wonder what I have done wrong to upset God, why He is angry with me, or if He just doesn’t care. You see, my focus looks at my problem instead of staying fixed on Him. So I begin to question His character. Here’s the reality, at those times I question whether He cares, I don’t believe He is. I practice in actions what I believe. So I am living like God is not the God of the Bible, the compassionate, caring God, loving God who has placed me above His Son. I love Jesus’ response to their question. “Why are you so fearful?” The King James Bible is so nice in the expression of this question but what Jesus is really asking is “in light of my promises to you and my power that I have displayed in front of you, why are you acting like an atheistic coward?’ But you know what? Just like in the story, Jesus calmed the sea in answer to their need, He loves me in spite of my unbelief. Even when I am fearful because of my inability to see an answer or even worst, to provide the answer myself, God still answers. Why? Because His work in my life is not dependent on me, but on Him. Yes, Jesus Cares for Us! He always does! Believe Him!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

