csibiblestudy


Who Are You Living For?
August 3, 2016, 6:22 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book | Tags: , ,

jesus sends you

“For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain” is a statement recorded in Philippians 1:21.  This verse is a statement of Paul’s philosophy of life.  From a murderer to a missionary, the life of Paul is not the story of a super Christian and what he achieved because of his love and discipline.  Rather it is the story of God, doing amazing things through ordinary people who may best be described as “messy misfits”.  Paul believed God and trusted Jesus Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection as the complete payment for sin.  By redeeming us, God fixed us in a way we couldn’t.

But redemption also involves Christ starting a process of transformation within us.  Remember, we are to come to Jesus and then follow after Him.  Along the way, we will deny ourselves, and ready ourselves to die for the cause of Christ.  While some may give their physical lives for Christ, we all can daily become the living sacrifices that yield all of us to the complete control of the Holy Spirit who dwells within us.

For to me to live is Christ is giving my best because Christ did.  For to me to live is Christ is making important in my life that which is important to Christ.  For to me to live is Christ is to be obedient to God’s commands, especially to love God with my all and to love others as myself.  As Christians we should be guided by this philosophy.  We want to commit our all to do everything for the glory of Christ.  For to me to live is Christ is allowing God to point others to Christ with my life of devotion and love for my Savior.  For to me to live is Christ brings me into unity with my brothers and sisters who are also following Christ.  Though different in many ways, “for to me to live is Christ” unites us.  Let’s give our all to let Christ live through us so that others will see Christ and not me.  “For to me to live is Christ” is life lived the way God intends.

For to me to live is Christ will involve me giving my best in reading the Word, and then putting it into action.  It will involve me memorizing and treasuring God’s Word  in my heart.  It will involve putting into actions my love for others as well as my love for God in all that I do.  “For to me to live is Christ” is letting Christ be glorified in all I do at all the time; and at the same time making the decision to all the time to glorify Christ in all I do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

