csibiblestudy


My Hope
September 7, 2016, 2:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“For thou art my hope, O Lord God: thou art my trust from my youth.” (Psalm 71:5)

As I drove past a small church, I noticed their sign.  On it was a short message – hope is trusting things unseen.  I thought, great thought but as I drove it was like the Holy Spirit was causing me to re-think the statement.  As I pondered the words, I realized they were insufficient as a definition and explanation for hope.  My problem wasn’t with trusting or unseen, but with THINGS!  So I thought about improving the definition.  Things was such a generalization.  What about trusting the wind?  The wind is unseen although it’s results aren’t.  Maybe on a hot day, I could trust a gentle breeze to bring relief, but the wind associated with a storm or hurricane produces no hope, only horror at the devastation it produces.  So hope isn’t trusting everything unseen.  I need something or someone who has characteristics that give meaning to my hope.  Biblically, hope seems to be based in something or someone that always comes through for you.  God directed me to Psalm 71.  The writer is an older man, like me, who is reflecting back on his life.  Life, being life, is full of events, circumstances, and incidents which at time are blessings mixed with tragedies.  There are great times of success as well as the times of crushing defeats.  Does that describe your life.  All of these were at one time unseen, but collectively don’t provide the basis for trust.

Look at the verse, the psalmist directs his words and focus to God.  Remember, this is an older person, reviewing his life.  The one thing or person he can always trust in any and all situations is God.  He comes through.  The writer relays this insight; “thou art my trust FROM MY YOUTH.”  Throughout the stages of life the one certainty, and the only certainty was, is, and always will be God.  Can’t you see the assurance the psalmist has in God that is not learned in a classroom or from a sermon.  This assurance comes from a daily relationship with God.  I find Him trustworthy and consistent to His revealed character.  I find Him present in both blessings and storms.  And even when I can’t see the “why” through walking with God, I have learned to trust Him regardless of whether He helps me understand.  As an older person, I can shout AMEN to “You are my hope, LORD GOD”.  My hope is in Christ alone!  You?

Jesus, my strength when I am weak

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

