csibiblestudy


Overwhelmed by Idols
November 20, 2016, 5:47 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book | Tags: , ,

a-rock-i-cant-life
A question that skeptics ask is “Can God create a rock that He can’t carry?” In Isaiah 46:1 God tells us that Bel and Nebo, two created idols of the Babylonians that were worshiped by the Jews, were loaded on carriages and caused them to bow under the pressure. But according to Isaiah 46:2, “they stoop, they bow down together; they could not deliver the burden, BUT themselves are gone into captivity.” These created idols were unable to bear burdens but were a load carried away by the people.
Contrast that statement with verses 3 and 4 “. . . are borne by me from the belly . . .” and ” . . . will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver (SAVE) you.”
Here’s what I learn from this passage: God carries me and He even carries me when I am carrying a ridiculous and worthless idol of my own making. An idol is something that I have created to try to fix my life on my terms. It is the answer we give when we say “My life would change if I only had __”. The reality is that my life doesn’t change with anything other than God being in control. My self-created idol is worthless and I have to end up carrying it. Before long, it overwhelms me because each time I count on it, it fails and my stress and pressure grows until I break under the weight and stress. The great news is that God carries me and nothing overwhelms Him. Not even my self made idols!
Today, surrender to Him and let Him be the answer to “my life would change if I only had GOD! He is my burden-bearer!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

