csibiblestudy


Who Do You Listen to About Life?
January 29, 2017, 5:01 am
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book
Psalm 103:8-13 “The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in mercy. He will not always chide: neither will he keep his anger for ever. He hath not dealt with us after our sins; nor rewarded us according to our iniquities. For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is his mercy toward them that fear him. As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. Like as a father pitieth his children, so the Lord pitieth them that fear him.”
When we live this thing called “LIFE” sometimes our circumstances become our focus. At those times, it is important to remember important truths about God. Here are a few.
First, God is merciful and gracious. Notice that this doesn’t say that God shows mercy and grace, although He does. In that case, we are talking about what God does. But it is important for us to remember and focus on Who God is. The characteristics of mercy and grace aren’t words to describe God’s attitudes or actions but attributes to describe who He really is. Because of this, we can be sure that all that God does will always fall within the realm of mercy and grace. Mercy is the idea that we don’t get what we deserve. Notice “He hath not dealt with us after our sins”. If God did, we would get justice and it would be fair. But God shows us mercy. He has removed our sins or transgression as far as the east is from the west away from us. He does because He is merciful. Then notice He shows us love like a father. He pitieth us. In other words, He loves us. Not because we deserve it but because He is gracious. When we fail, the easy thing would be to walk away or to condemn us. But God stays, correcting, convicting, encouraging, changing us. Not because we deserve it or have earned it with our good efforts. Simply because He is gracious.
Second, God loves us. He expresses love toward us. God sees what we can be in Him and constantly works within us so that we become that. When we fail Him and come short of His standard, He doesn’t treat us as a judge would. He treats us in love. Many times I did stupid things that my dad was disappointed that I did. But while I can think of many times my dad was upset, disappointed, and angry over my disobedience, rebellion, and stupidity, I can’t think of one time that my dad stopped loving me. (It was close a few times!) But God, my Eternal Father, took it upon Himself to love me to the extreme. Unconditionally, He loves me. In spite of my failures, rebellion, disobedience, and SIN, God doesn’t punish me because He took my punishment on the cross. Justice has been done and I have received grace, unearned favor with God.
So tonight, I choose to remember the truth about God. At times Satan tries to get me to look at the events and circumstances in my life as things to question God about. Sometimes, Satan tells me that God is punishing me by having Teresa hurt. Sometimes Satan yells “If God is good, why are y’all going through bad things?” When he does, the Holy Spirit reminds me God is merciful and gracious and God loves me. Who are you going to believe: the One who is described as” the way, THE TRUTH, and the life” or the one who is described as “the father of lies”?
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

