csibiblestudy


The Life of Faith
June 27, 2017, 7:03 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book | Tags: , ,

Hebrews 10:38- “Now the just shall live by faith: but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him.” Four times in the Bible, Habakkuk 2:4, Romans 1:17, Galatians 3:11, and then here in Hebrews 10:38 God inspires a writer to use these words. Anything that God repeats is very important and it is evident that God wants us to live by faith! Indwelt by the Spirit, we follow Him along this journey but because of our old nature, living by faith is a difficult path. I struggle because I want to be in control of situations and circumstances. I am a planner. I try to be sensitive to the Lord, but being a person whose life interacts with so many others makes me a person whose choices are based on what is best for someone other than me. You might be reading this and at this point say, “do what’s best for you and don’t worry about others!” I can’t. I don’t think that is what God wants of me. The reason I interact with so many others is that I am following God and He is using me as His instrument. Like Jeremiah and Jonah, sometimes I don’t like the cost. But what can I do? If I stop caring, if I stop making decisions for what is best for another even if it costs me something, haven’t I stopped loving? If I stop loving others, Biblically, doesn’t that mean that I have stopped loving God. For what? An easier life with less to concern me and more stuff to entertain me. Doesn’t that somehow connect with love not the world, and the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes? Whenever we follow Christ, the path will take us on unexpected paths where our faith is challenged and the making all things new is at times uncomfortable. But isn’t the treasure I am pursuing worth it? He sure is! Jesus is the treasure and He makes life with Him more valuable than all the gold in the world!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

