csibiblestudy


I Promise!
June 28, 2017, 11:34 pm
Filed under: Searching for our Savior in His book | Tags: , ,

Leviticus 5:4 “Or if a soul swear, pronouncing with his lips to do evil, or to do good, whatsoever it be that a man shall pronounce with an oath, and it be hid from him; when he knoweth of it, then he shall be guilty in one of these. 5 And it shall be, when he shall be guilty in one of these things, that he shall confess that he hath sinned in that thing: 6 And he shall bring his trespass offering unto the Lord for his sin which he hath sinned, a female from the flock, a lamb or a kid of the goats, for a sin offering; and the priest shall make an atonement for him concerning his sin.”
Have you ever made a promise to do something without carefully considering whether you can or whether you should. We make promises that sometimes are the result of good intentions but we sometimes tell someone we will do something that has an evil outcome. And then we don’t do it. This passage speaks of that. In the Old Testament economy, God demonstrates the importance of keeping your word. When you realize that you have made a careless promise, even if when you made it, you really thought you could do it, you must step up to accept the consequences. An offering for the guilt of not keeping your promise was a remedy for your sin. Think of how this would work in our world today. How many promises do we make that we never keep? Once, I promised my youngest daughter to go to the beach on her birthday. Within a few miles from home, my children were breathing each others oxygen and were asking are we there yet. I decided that we weren’t going to the beach. Although it has been years, my daughter still reminds me of that promise I broke.
Have you ever promised “never to do it again”, only to break that promises within a short time? Worst of all, I think of promises I make to God to follow Him, to study His word, to obey His command to love, to die to myself and realize how serious God sees that based on this passage. While I don’t have to make a sacrifice of a female lamb or goat today, I still need to remember the sacrifice that God made because of my rash vow.
God, please let me mean what I promise and be willing to carry it out. Help me to see life from your point of view and be sensitive to what the Spirit is directing in my life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

